Did you know that, to be considered an uninsured motorist in Florida, you must not have auto insurance or a policy that does not meet the minimum of $10,000.00 bodily injury coverage per person and $20,000.00 per accident? According to the Information Institute, Florida has the lowest auto insurance coverage requirements in the entire country. Even with the lowest coverage limits, over 20% of Florida drivers are uninsured. That is one of the highest uninsured motorist rates in the country.
If you are an uninsured motorist in Florida and are caught driving without insurance, you can be required to pay a fine of up to $500.00. What may be even more important, however, is if you are an uninsured motorist in Florida and you get into a car accident, you could lose your assets and go into serious debt paying the costs. Although your own personal health insurance coverage may cover your medical bills if you suffer an injury, you may be responsible for paying the medical bills of those in your car and the other car as well. Without auto insurance, those bills will likely come out of your pocket. You may also have to pay out of pocket to repair your own vehicle and the other vehicle if you were at fault.
If you are an uninsured motorist in Florida who has gotten into a car accident or you have been injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, make sure you reach out to a local attorney experienced in these issues so he or she can assist you through any litigation and help minimize the damage. Our experienced team of local attorneys is here to answer your questions. We know local experience matters! For more information, please reach out to our office. You may call, chat, or contact us at any time. Put our team to work for you!